Welcome to sewemily

For months I’ve wanted to sew. I’ve seen so many beautifully hand-crafted quilts, dolls, and clothes made by incredibly skilled folks, and I wanted to get in on the action. However, without having ever used a sewing machine, I wasn’t sure where to start! Enter Melissa. She’s my ever-talented friend who also happens to be a fantastic sewer (I have a feeling that is not the right word!). She came to visit and she helped me figure out where to start…which interestingly enough is with a sewing machine…go figure!

So I had my grandmother’s vintage 1964 Singer Touch & Sew serviced and we were ready to sew! Meet Anna Mae, named in honor of said grandmother.

Meet Anna Mae

And next was a stop at the fabric store. If you’re ever in Denver, you must visit Fancy Tiger Crafts. According to Melissa and other reviewers, the folks at Fancy Tiger  have the most fantastic modern selection of fabrics. I chose a few that spoke to me to start with.

And finally, we got to the sewing. Well, actually, we finally got to the sewing after catching up over a few good meals including a stop at Snooze for brunch. But I’ll spare you the yummy details.

We had just enough time for Melissa to show me the in’s and out’s of basic sewing and the beginnings of a tote bag…which I will finish soon and post the final product.

I’m looking forward to my sewing adventure and being able to share it, my lessons learned, and finished products on my blog. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll even be good at it.

🙂 E

2 responses to “Welcome to sewemily

Leave a Reply

