Welcome Fall!

It is official…there is a Kindergartener in the house!

Of course I’ve been thinking, “What can I sew up for Miss A to celebrate the momentous occasion?” Next month in the O+S LTTS SAL  the project is a backpack, so I’m definitely making it. Isn’t this so cute? She has a penguin lunch box, so I may just have to make the penguin backpack. Or I’ll let her choose fabrics for the more plain one. Or maybe I’ll make both. Okay, that’s a bit ambitious! (Slow down, Emily, breathe. Remember to finish your two in-progress projects first!)

 

(Image from A Little Gray)

I’ve been thinking a pencil case would be fun to sew, though I’d have to conquer my fear of zippers. I’ve been looking through tutorials and so far I like this one, this one, and this one. If you have any great tutorials or patterns you’d like to recommend, send them my way! And I already have the perfect fabric picked out.

We played quite a bit of hopscoth this summer, so it only seems to fit.

Even though the official end to summer is September 23rd, the start of school and the last camping trip of the year have come and gone and I’m in Fall mode. I’m already looking forward to sweaters, boots, scarves, mittens, hats, and even the snow. I’m sure I’ll get over the excitement of snow after the first snow, but for now it sounds great!

In the meantime, I’ll try to soak up the last bits of summer and look for opportunities to hopscotch, play outside with Miss A, get to the pool once more, and hopefully get one more fishing trip in where Miss A actually catches a fish.

What are your plans for rest of the summer?

Happy Sewing!

🙂 E

One response to “Welcome Fall!

Leave a Reply

